Jumping on the Peplum Trend with McCall’s 6844

I, along with a lot of others based on the number of recent reviews on patternreview.com, loved the line drawing/envelope photo for McCall’s 6844, an open-front knit cardigan with a collar that extends into a front band, with two hem shapes and lengths. I liked the line drawings for both of the shorter views, but decided to first make view C, the shorter version with an asymmetric peplum hem.

M6844 Cardigan - withneedleandthread

Several of the reviews suggested that the pattern runs large. I measure for a size 10-12 in Big4 patterns, but have found that that includes way too much wearing ease, especially in knit patterns. This pattern comes in XS (6-8), S (10-12), M (14-16), and I decided to make an XS and followed the suggestions on the pattern for petite adjustments (shortening the bodice and sleeves). Even with the petite adjustments, the waist seam still hit a bit lower than I wanted it, so I just used a slightly larger seam allowance to sew the peplum to the bodice, which served not only to raise the waist seam, but also to shorten the peplum. I also took the same increased seam from the center back of the collar to maintain proportion between the pieces.

Even with the larger seam, the back of the peplum hit far too low to be flattering on me. I ended up chopping off 3 inches from the center back of the peplum, tapering to nothing at the side seam (which would then meet with the front) and love the length that it ended up, just long enough in the back to make it clear that it was supposed to be longer. Also, if I were making it again, I would narrow the shoulders just a bit.

This is an easy piece to make and a very versatile addition to my wardrobe. I originally thought I didn’t need two peplum cardigans, but I love this one and now see another in my future, maybe in a color (rather than a neutral, I mean. I do know that grey is a color, thanks Dad). I’ll definitely be trying view A come spring.

One thought on “Jumping on the Peplum Trend with McCall’s 6844

Leave a Reply

